Posted by: Amy | April 11, 2010

Busy, Busy, Busy!

My goodness!  I knew it has been awhile since I have had the opportunity to write on my blog, but WOW!  Time flies when you are having fun…lol!  As you know, this year was our first real jump into the homeschool realm, so to speak.  It has proven to keep us quite busy!  Our journey this year has proven to be a great one.  I am so happy that we have decided to go this route.

I apologize in advance, since this post will not present any pictures.  I have actually been kind of neglectful in my picture-taking duties.  It seems as though all I have time for these days is teaching, cleaning, and changing diapers…lol!  It’s okay, though, I am loving my life more than ever.  I am going to try hard to get back into my blogging habit because it is something I miss doing.  I find it intriguing to be able to share my thoughts in a “live” atmosphere where others can actually express their thoughts and encouragement back.  Only you fellow bloggers will understand what I am talking about.

Our school studies…

In the beginning I was excited and nervous all at the same time.  Once the decision was made that we were going to homeschool, I knew in my heart that this is where the good Lord wants us at this point in our lives. 

(I have to stop for a minute and elaborate.  If you have ever had a struggle with a decision in your life, I urge you to give it to the Lord.  It is absolutely amazing how He takes care of us, especially when we feel utterly out of control.  All we have to do is give it to Him!)

Back to our school studies…

I started out very “gung-ho” with a HUGE list of what we were to accomplish for this year.  I admit now, a little too “gung-ho” …lol! I won’t bore you with  my list, for you would probably think I am crazy.  I was warned that this would probably happen, for the fear of failing my children is a strong one.  But, as we got going, I quickly realized that if we were going to be successful I would have to simplify!  And, later, I realized that it is okay to “tailor” school to my children’s needs – or my own for that matter!  This freedom is a huge benefit of homeschooling.  Once I learned to embrace this, our journey got much more enjoyable.  It is hard to pull away from the structured school mindset that many of us have grown up with.  It feels strange and wrong at first, but now I would have it no other way!  I love that my little first grader can be just that – a little first grader. 

There is more than one road that leads to the knowledge that our children are expected to attain, and we happened to have chosen the trip down “Homeschool Avenue.”  My first grader will meet his fellow first grade friends at the end of this road, just in a different manner.  My hope is that not only he will reach that destination, but perhaps he will acquire a few more souvenirs along the way ;-)

Responses

  1. well well well amy i think your rather religious grand pa davis would be on his knees and praying to god and saying at least one of them is on the right track you have alot of strenght and wisdom that i had to find on my own through trial and error 26 years ago you already know the circumstances as to why responsibility is hard especially when it is thrust upon you with out your say so just do and even hardernwhen any one of a hundred people around you can do with and for you but all put their hands up in the air and say what do you want me to do about it and walk away you have alot of angels helping you from the other side and your family support staff you are all in my prayers. i wish i knew how to get into my face page i even went through publisher and i still got garbly gook bye bye get a good night sleep school tomorrow

  2. Hi Aunt Eeya! :) Thanks for stopping by. I had no idea you left this comment until this morning. I have been thinking about my blog lately as I have been so extremely busy and have not had time to work on it. I am going to try and get back into the routine of writing, so if you keep “visiting” you might get to see more of what is going on in our lives. Take care!

  3. You wondered about 4-H on my post awhile back. Our county offers a homeschool club (very relaxed, no officers/pledges) and all ages can participate. Public school children usually begin 4-H in 4th grade, but can be Cloverbuds in some programs. Try contacting your extension office to see what they have available, or what they might be willing to work out if you can gather a small group. :o)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

