Posted by: Amy | August 28, 2008

Life is Never Dull

Okay.  Where to start.  I realize it has been a long time since my last post.  We have had a very eventful summer that happens to also be filled with many changes.  Major changes.  So, I think I will start at the beginning…

June 20th, while we were visiting with family for Father’s day, my husband and I discovered that we are expecting baby #3!  Yes, we are very excited, and it was, for the most part, a planned event.  Shortly after our new found news we headed to Myrtle Beach for our family vacation, which I will write a little more about along with pictures at a later date.  It was when we arrived back home from vacation that things got crazy.

We arrived home sometime in the afternoon on a Saturday.  I think it was July 10th, or somewhere around there.  The minute we got home, I went straight to bed.  I was very tired from our long drive home.  For some reason, when I woke up, I started experiencing the joys of morning sickness like you wouldn’t believe!  In fact, my entire month of July, and most of August, were spent this way.  I made a trip to the ER one day, and eventually ended up relying on anti-nausea medication to get me through each day.  Needless to say, it has been a rough time for our family. 

I think I can finally say I am now past the horrible morning sickness part, though I still feel uneasy at times.  It was never like this during the other pregnancies.  I am certain this will be our last one…LOL!  I will be 16 weeks come this Saturday.  I really can’t believe how fast the time has actually gone since we first found out.  I guess that is what happens when you spend a ton of time in bed.  I am doing great, and the baby appears to be healthy at this point.  I will have another ultrasound on Sept. 18th, and yes, we will hope to learn if it is a boy or girl..hee…hee!  Being that the baby is due on Valentine’s Day, I am taking that as a sign of girl:)  We will find out soon enough!

So, that is the first part of our crazy summer.   This next part is a very bitter sweet adventure.  I have to start by saying that I struggled very hard with the decision.  There were a lot of tears, but in the end I feel we made a good decision.  I am sure some of you will disagree, but you have to remember that everyone’s life is different and what is right for one family may not be exactly the answer for another.

We decided to let Little R go to kindergarten!  Yes, I said “go to.”  There were a lot of different things that went into the decision, and to be honest, I feel that it was a very personal decision, therefore I will not go into the details here. 

Our original decision to homeschool was centered around the fact that Little R has some life threatening food allergies, and I was never fully comfortable handing him over to a teacher that has many other little ones to take care of, and comfortably expect her to be able to carefully watch my son.  One day, after many of the other things started happening in our lives, I had this sort of epiphany and asked myself, “What if?”  What if Little R did go to kindergarten.  I started weighing the pros and cons.  I went to the school and met the principal and the kindergarten teacher.  I was so thoroughly impressed, that I couldn’t believe I was so against public school in the first place. 

I know this is just the beginning, and I am sure there will be hurdles.  But, there are many hurdles in life.  I still love working with my children, especially in the classroom setting.  I have decided that we will be “after schoolers.”  I think children who do well in school away from home are the ones that have a strong foundation for morals and learning at home as well.  I am looking at this as an opportunity to guide my son through the multitude of things he will eventually experience.   I am starting to realize that there are things in life that I couldn’t provide by keeping him home everyday anyway. 

I am not making an argument about public vs. homeschool.  I am still very fond of homeschooling.  I feel like I have learned a lot along my journeyand have gotten  familiar with the intimacies of homeschooling.  I am certain that these wonderful attributes will benefit the relationship between me and Little R as I help him along his new path.

What does this mean for my blog?  Well, I have decided to keep writing.  I thoroughly enjoy writing about our experiences.  I enjoy being able to look back and read about things from the past and witnessing how we have grown.  I, of course, also love having a place to keep some of our many pictures.  I also have some close family and friends who like to read about our learning journey.  I will change the name of the blog so that it will no longer suggest we are homeschoolers.

I hope that our new life won’t interfere with those of you who I have gotten to know through homeschool blogging.  I still have things to learn from you:)

Wish us luck!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on your new baby God is knitting inside you! I have a lot of sympathy for you in your morning sickness. I had all-day-sickness and was miserable each time. I know how you feel!

    God is good and enables us to do whatever He has called us to do. He will enable you in this new direction that He has called you to!

    Blessings-
    A.

  2. Hello,
    I haven’t commented in awhile but I just had to when I read this post. We used Calvert the last year and half but are also sending our DS to PS kindergarten! He started next week. We too struggled over the summer about our decision but believe it’s worth a whole hearted try. The PS he’ll be attending has a unique program that we couldn’t pass up. It’s a dual language immersion program. Kindergarten is done in half Mandarin and half English. We were looking for something challenging for our DS and this seemed to fit. We just went to the meet and greet last week and there will be 12 kids for 2 teachers. It seems like a wonderful program and we’ve been impressed with the school so far. They too seperate kindergartners at recess/lunch. The 3rd is his first day so we’ll see how it goes. I’m still going to HS my 3.5 year old till she’s ready for K but she’ll have lots of outside activities to attend as well. We are in a suburb of Los Angeles. Are you anywhere near that?
    Erika

  3. Mrs. Edwards- thank you for your kind words!

    Erika- I am so glad I am not the only person who has experienced this hard decision. I remember you, but I can’t seem to locate you. I am not on the West Coast, I am in the Midwest.

    Amy

  4. Congrats on your new addition! That’s wonderful. Thanks for the heads up!

  5. Congratulations!!! How very exciting to have a new member of the family! I hope you start feeling better soon. I was one of those all-day-sickness prego girls myself.

  6. Hey woman, how are you doing?? How far along are you? Let me know of updates!! Take care, Jessica


Leave a Reply

Categories

