Posted by: Amy | September 3, 2008

Off to School!

Sending your little food allergy child off to school, especially for the first time is one of the most scary things for their parents.  At least, this is how I feel!

Many of you know that for the past year or so we have been planning to home school due to food allergies.  As this school year approached, I started feeling compelled to look into our school.  It was one of those things where you just have a feeling about something and have to explore it.

Little R was due to start kindergarten, and I had about three weeks to make up my mind.  I have to say that I spent tons of time and quite a bit of money planning on homeschooling.  I grew quite fond of the idea as I got deeper into it.  As the deadline approached, however, I decided to make a visit to our local school just to explore the idea.  I mainly wanted to see how they handle the situation of food allergies.

I have to say that I was almost unable to believe how wonderful the school was from the start!  From the first phone call I made to the principal, to the personal call I recieved from Little R’s teacher yesterday regarding a food allergy situation, the school seems to be 100% on top of the situation. 

So, yes, off he goes…….

Since he is with his teacher, who I will call Mrs. M, the entire time he is at school, the majority of the weight falls on her shoulders.  I wish I could post a picture of her here and offer her more official praise, but I am sure you understand the annonymity we wish to keep. 

The first day of school Mrs. M set aside time for the class to watch a dvd, Alexander the Elephant Goes to School, followed by a question answer time.  Little R then got to show everyone his Medic Alertbracelet.  He had expressed concern to me a few days before school started about what the other kids would think of his bracelet.  He felt great about watching the dvd and having the teacher talk about it in class.

Mrs. M carries both of his Epi-Pens around her waist in a carrier I provided.  I even took in some expired Epi-Pens a few days before school started for her to practice. 

Probably the biggest tear jerker of all is that when his teacher found out I was going to a food allergy meeting with FAAST concerning back to school, she asked if she could attend with me!  Now that is going above the call of duty as far as I am concerned.

Responses

  1. I’m so excited for you and your son–we’ve sent our nut-allergic daughter to public school since we found out about her allergies and in general have found school staff to be incredibly helpful. Your son will benefit from all the other students he meets and maybe he’ll even help educate them on food allergies.

    It sounds like your teacher is a gem–be sure to thank her for all she does. (I’m sure you will.) I’ve also come across those types of teachers and Girl Scout leaders, etc. Could someone be looking out for us allergy moms??

    Good luck and keep us posted!

  2. that is awesome. I hope i can get a teacher like that next year for my little J. That made it much easier for you, Im sure. Yay, for good teachers!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

