Posted by: Amy | September 15, 2008

Hurricane Ike: all the way in Ohio??????

That is what they are saying, anyway.  About 2:00 yesterday afternoon, while I was spending time with the boys in our family room, I started hearing some loud wind outside.  At first I didn’t think much of it.  I had listened to the weather in the morning and heard that we would get some strong winds, but other than that, no serious warnings. 

As time went on, though, I started to realize that this was not oridinary windy day.  It was odd because the sun was shining, but some of my neighbors were losing shingles from their rooves left and right.  We went outside to check our roof, which luckily was fine, but once outside, realized that it was probably not a good idea to be out.  Everything seemed innocent.  There was no rain, so thunder, and really not many clouds.  It was like witnessing what a storm was all about minus the normal parts.

As the day progressed, various large swing sets blew over.  Some of these were pretty heavy and large!  I thought, wow!  If the wind could knock one of those over, what could it do to one of my little 30 pound boys???  About 3:00 we lost all of our power.  It is still out as of now (luckily my dear sister has her power, hence my writing on the blog.)  According to our local power company, 90% plus of the customer base has been left without power.  This is the worst situation our city has been in as far as power outages.  It could be the end of the week before all of the power is turned back on. 

It is amazing how we are so accustomed to things like electricity.  I feel almost debilitated without it!  Though I try to limit the amount of time my children spend using screen time, it is hard not having that TV!  And, my computer! And, my oven! And, my hairdryer!!!!  My list could go on, but I realize that these are all just modern conveniences.  I know it could be much worse.  I am reminded of those in Texas and other areas that were really hit by hurricane Ike.  I was just amazed that we, so far away from Texas, could be affected by the same storm.

Responses

  1. Thanks for clearing that up for me. My son has a friend in Ohio and they talk on the phone almost daily. When Luke told me that Jonathan had shingles blown off his roof by hurricane Ike I thought he mis-heard. Apparently he didn’t. :)
    Corey

  2. Wow, I know I was amazed by it all, and it just skirted by us, I am so very thankful. I pray all is well with you and yours, it is scary. It was amazing to me as I watched Ike progress northward without losing much momentum or size. Let us know in an entry how you all are doing, once you have power of course. Otherwise, I suppose a few days of no tv could be a good thing, I’ve been thinking about having our own “emergency outage” just to get it all shut off for a while. Funny how we rarely do without unless we HAVE to do without! Hugs!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

