Posted by: Amy | September 18, 2008

Back on Track!

Finally, last night about 8:00 pm we had our power returned!  I was actually not at home, but my husband said he was outside talking with some neighbors when it happened, and they could hear a lot of “WOO HOOS!” throughout the neighborhood.  I know I was yelling my own woo hoo in the car when I got the call.

I have to say that living without one of our most used amenities proved to be not all that bad.  At first it was.  I was the biggest baby of all in our household.  I, like most other women I know, depend so much on my little hairdryer to help finish the getting cleaned up routine, that I felt completely at a loss without it!  I know that sounds crazy, but I have some really crazy hair if I can’t tame it before it dries.  Most people don’t know that about me.  I made due, however, with pony tails and hats.  In a way, it was kind of nice to have the extra time each morning that wasn’t spent on drying my hair.  And, of course, there was the hauling my laundry to my sister’s house, and not having cold beverages to drink.  I couldn’t run the vaccuum (darn!) like I am used to doing everyday. 

Living without power taught our family a few other things as well.  Since we had no kitchen stove or microwave (or regrigerator, or dishwasher!) to work with, we spent a lot of time outside for dinner.  Luckily, we had some beef that was frozen solid and thawed out just in time for us to put on the grill.  I have very little experience on the grill myself, so my husband had to really help in this area.  It actually made our dinner time a better “family” experience.  Instead of me doing all the preperations, my husband was right there with me.  My children really got a kick out of eating by candle light as well.

 

)

One of our many dinners in the dark:)

Since it is starting to get dark earlier, we found ourselves wrapping up our day by about 7:30 or 8:00 each night.  It proved much easier to put the boys to bed when there were no other temptations to lure them back out.  My husband and I were “forced” to spend time together rather than with the tv or laptop.  I think we all got kind of refreshed from this whole experience.  I think God knows more about what we need than we do…LOL! 

I realize that other people around us were more greatly effected.  We didn’t have any home damage or physical harm, but I understand that there were indeed people all around us dealing with much more horrible situations.  As I drove around our little town, I was shocked to see so many HUGE trees completely broken in half or just uprooted.  Most were laying in yards and such, but I did see many on top of houses.  I keep thinking of these people and I feel very blessed that we did not have any real distruction our way. 

As I understand it, there are still many people around our city that still have no power.  While I was driving home from taking little R to school, I found myself behind about 12 gas and electric trucks!  They were all headed out past my house.  It was amazing to me to witness first hand four days after the actual storm there still need to be that many energy trucks working on power lines!  It is kind of hard to wrap my head around it sometimes.

Responses

  1. Glad y’all fared well in the storm and that you have power back. We got our powerr back this past Friday– but stayed out of town the whole time. We were blessed to have big trees fall AWAY from the house and to have friends clean out our fridge and freezer for us while we were gone. God is so good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

