Posted by: Amy | December 23, 2008

Peanut Allergies and Reactions to Lupin

My friend Paul from Food Allergy Angel sent me an email linking to a story on Science Daily that reports a caution to people with peanut allergy.  Lupin is in the legume family the same as peanuts.  Apparently there have been cases of people with peanut allergy that have reacted to foods with the Lupin ingredient. 

I found the article interesting.  When I learn of new things such as this, my first thought is wether for not little R has had the ingredient in question.  I am happy to have the heads up, but at the same time learning of new things that can harm my little precious being causes me a lot of anxiety.  I would love to dismiss this new piece of information, but I know first hand that other foods in the legume family can indeed cause a reaction to my peanut allergic child.  He happens to be allergic to peas for this very reason!

Maybe this will help some of you with a mystery reaction or two.  I would love to know if anyone else has heard of the Lupin news.

Responses

  1. Yes, in fact I just blogged about lupin. Apparently it is an ingredient in some forms of gluten-free pasta.

    It just goes to show you how we have to stay on top of ingredients! Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

