Posted by: Amy | January 8, 2009

Moving Forward

Maybe it is because it is the start of the new year, or maybe it is the fact that I am down to about five weeks before baby J arrives, but I suddenly feel a sense of renewed energy and focus!  I am getting excited about starting into our official homeschool journey come next fall.  I realize that it is quite a while away, but I am ready now!

I have decided to start with little C and work with him through the rest of the school year.  I have not been very aggressive with school work since I became pregnant back this summer, so he has not experienced much structure.  I figured that if I start working with him a little in the mornings after we take little R to school, I can slowly get him ready for the real deal when the time comes.  Not only that, but the more I can close the gap between him and little R, the easier my job will be… hopefully.

We are spending time working on The Veritas Phonics museum level K, followed by Saxon K lessons.  He really likes the work.  It only takes us an hour at most.  An hour doesn’t seem like long, but I think it is a great start.  When we get to places in our journey that little R has not experienced, well, that can be him homework ;-)

It feels very good to be doing the daily work.  I also feel a sense of calm now that I am working on something and not just contemplating it.  I have also been reading a lot of Homeschool Enrichment Magazine, which has proved to be a great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Categories

