Posted by: Amy | July 19, 2009

Left Fork Milam Creek Road

I mentioned in my last post that I would be adding pictures of another cherished part of our family reunion.  My father-in-law and his family grew up in Dunlow, WV -on the side of a mountain!  It amazes me to hear stories about their lives growing up.  It is the kind of stuff you only get to read about in stories.  My father-in-law grew up with eight siblings in a very small house.  There were each a girls’ bedroom and a boys’ bedroom for them to share.  In the summer the boys sometimes slept in the cellar to keep cool. 

I think what strikes me the most is how many memories they have from such a simple life.  It has made me stop and think about how my children are being raised.  It is so easy to get caught up in the mainstream of things and bombard them with too many things and too much activity!  I know you know what I am talking about.

Okay, enough of my ramblings,… off to the pictures!

This is the spot where the house use to stand.  You can still see the steps and the cellar in the rear.  Unfortunately, the house burned some time ago.

The original homesite.

The original homesite.

This is the road that runs in front of the house site.  All of the roads up there are either dirt or water and rocks as you have to actually drive through creek beds to accomplish the journey.  Can you believe we drove our mini-van up there?  Thank goodness it didn’t rain!

Left Fork Milam Creek Road

Left Fork Milam Creek Road

The boys looovve playing in the creek.  The water up there is very clear, and cold!
Aunt P and the boys playing in the creek.

Aunt P and the boys playing in the creek.

This huge rock sits just down the road from the homesite.  Growing up, the kids use to play on this rock.  My boys were just as fascinated with it as I am sure their grandpa once was.

The famous rock.

The famous rock.

My father-in-law told me a story about this rock that I just had to include.  One day, long ago, he and another sibling were playing on the rock when along came a couple of men.  They embedded this marking into the rock, and told the boys that if they ever touched it they would go to jail!  From that time on, this marking became engulfed in their little minds…lol!

Approximately 800 feet above sea level.

Approximately 800 feet above sea level.

There is no running water on Milam Creek, therefore outhouses were very common.  The original outhouse is long gone, but a new one has been built in it’s place.  Since family members spend a lot of time camping there now, it became necessary.

A recently built outhouse.

A recently built outhouse.

My father-in-law took us on a walk along the same dirt road he use to play on as a kid.  It was fun eating berries and listening to stories along the way.

Enjoying our walk along the dirt road.

Enjoying our walk along the dirt road.

 We stopped here at this rock over hang.  The air is super cool under here.  My father-in-law told us that he and his siblings played here to avoid the heat of summer.  Another fun memory includes the mailman stopping here to eat his lunch every day.

Checking out the underneath of a rock overhang.

Checking out the underneath of a rock overhang.

This particular tree is native to this area in West Virginia.  The nickname is “Umbrella Tree,” so the boys thought it was fun to hold them like umbrellas.
Ubrella trees.

Umbrella trees.

A picture of an Umbrella Tree.

A picture of an Umbrella Tree.

The rock in the creek is made of sandstone.  It is very sandy on the mountain.  I found that very interesting because I have always associated sand with places like the beach.
Sandstone.

Sandstone.

Rock made from sand.

Rock made from sand.

We found it very curious that these huge trees were growing out of the rock!  It seems impossible to us that tree roots could grow right into the rock.

Trees growing out of rock.

Trees growing out of rock.

The boys were amazed at the fact that this was actually a place for swimming.  Apparently it is pretty deep in the middle.

The swimming hole.

The swimming hole.

In today’s time, it is much fun to go 4-wheelin’ on the mountain.  I was late in arriving to capture pictures of our cousins on their 4-wheelers, but I did get this picture of rock climbers(?)… Somebody clear this up for me :-)

Rock climbers, or dune buggies?

Rock climbers, or dune buggies?

This picture is a little fuzzy.  I had to zoom in with my digital camera in order to get the picture without scaring it away.  These creatures are nicknamed “snake doctors,” apparently because when they are spotted it means a snake is lurking nearby.  There are poisonous snakes on the mountain! 

Snake doctor.

Snake doctor.

Okay, this picture has nothing to do with the family history, but I had to include it.  Perhaps if our little family were growing up here this would become a place of remembrance for them.  Doesn’t this rock look like a crocodile head with green hair…LOL?

Crocadile rock.

Crocodile rock.

That is all I have to share from out trip to Dunlow, WV for now.  We are planning on a camping trip there sometime in August.  Perhaps I will have more to add later.

Our path out.

Our path out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

