Posted by: Amy | July 30, 2009

Canning Green Beans!

Little R.

Little R.

This has been an interesting summer.  I have many things on my “list” that I want to learn and accomplish, and one of them has always been how to can things from the garden.  I would like to say thank you to my mother-in-law for taking the time (and having the patience…lol) to teach me! 

Of course, we had to start by picking the beans out of the garden.  The boys have waited all summer to be able to pick beans from the plants they planted back in the spring.  It has been fun, and a learning experience for them to watch the process of their plants grow.   

Little C.
Little C.

It is funny how quickly they can lose interest, though, when it comes to hard work.  Before we knew it, it was just me and my father-in-law doing the picking!  I truly didn’t mind being left with my father-in-law.  It was actually a nice bonding time between me and him.  I have been out a couple of times since, and I have come to enjoy our little “chats” in the garden. :-)

I learned that there is more to picking beans than just picking beans…lol!  At one point my FIL looked at me and said, “Do you really want to eat those?”  I thought that the larger the bean, the better it was.  Apparently, if the bean is too large and covered with big bumps, that means that the bean will be tough and hard to chew.  I am afraid that I had already included many of such beans.  Oh well, lol…, it IS a learning experience, right?

Me & my MIL.
Me & my MIL.

After picking the green beans, they had to be strung.  I had never before strung green beans, but it was not as hard as I thought it would be.  In fact, I found it to be kind of a relaxing experience.  It gave me and my mother-in-law some time for our own chats.  I guess you can say my canning experience proved to be about more than just canning…lol!  I enjoyed these unexpected moments more than the process itself.

Had it not been for the nice conversation, I am sure that the stringing part would have felt like an eternity.  We sat there for quite awhile doing this tedious task.  I learned that it is very important to get those awful strings off, or our canned beans would not be as enjoyable.
Doesn't this picture make you hungry for green beans?

Doesn't this picture make you hungry for green beans?

Leave a Reply

Categories

