Posted by: Amy | August 9, 2009

Juggling

I know I am not the only one to deal with this, because I have read other people’s thoughts about this same subject.  How in the world am I to keep house and have a great homeschool experience???? 

We just finished our first real week of school – which I thoroughly enjoyed, and wouldn’t change even for a clean house- but, I stepped back yesterday and noticed the my house was a WRECK!!!  I know that some things are not going to be the same, especially in the beginning, BUT <<big sigh>> how have all of you emotionally dealt with this?

Responses

  1. In order to stay on top of homeschooling and housework, I think it’s important to break it down and make it a part of your weekly routine.

    If you schedule one task out for each day of the week, it won’t be as overwhelming as an entire house turned upside-down!

    Make a list of chores and SCHEDULE it like you would math or story time. And it’s even better if you can get a munchkin to help you with it.

    For us, the biggest things are dishes, laundry and picking up. I got one of those dish wants that holds dishsoap, so it is easy to wash a few dishes several times a day so they don’t pile up. Laundry– I start a load at the beginning of the school day and it’s easy to move to the dryer when it dings. Later, take 10 minute break to fold laundry– set the timer! Put clothes away after school. And picking up, we pick up the house before school, after lunch, and then before bed. With littles, it’s fun (for them) to set the timer for 5 minutes and see how much you can get done– like a race! :)

    It won’t make your house perfect (mine sure isn’t!), but it will make it more pleasant and peaceful and release your mind of the stress of trying to get it all done.

  2. Thanks for all the wonderful ideas! I am excited to get started on implementing them!

  3. Hi,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I just had to come over and say “Welcome to the Wonderful World of Homeschooling!”

    Keeping the house clean is a challenge. We have been doing this for 13 years now and I still struggle with it! Here is a link to my post about housekeeping…

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/jaminacema/336819/

    Best wishes!

    Jamin

  4. Well… I lower my expectations. And then I pick one area a day to clean– so once a week, the school room is clean. Once a week, the bedrooms are clean. My kids are a little older, and now they help more. Put a ton of stuff (toys, clothes) in your basement and rotate it, so it’s that much less that can get messed up. And check out preschoolers and peace. com

  5. Thanks for the advice, Annie. I am sorry it took me so long to approve your comment. Somehow it ended up in my Spam! I read your blog all the time to gain insight and wisdom :-) Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

