Posted by: Amy | September 5, 2009

An Adventure Box

The hardest thing about homeschooling so far for me has been getting use to changing things on an almost daily basis.  I have always been a creature of habit in that I like stucture and predictability.  I have spent a ton of time sitting at the comuter and looking through our chosen curriculum to plan our school days.  What I have found, though, is that homeschooling is a bit more complex than I originally thought.  That is complex in a good way.

The beauty of homeschooling is that if our chosen method or curriculum does not appear to be interesting enough or effective, we can change it!  It is just that the changing has been happening quite frequently around here.  I guess being new to the homeschooling lifestyle also brings with it a bit of trial and error.  I have read other’s posts on this subject (though, it has been awhile and I no longer remember where I found these posts,) so I know I am not alone. 

I have come to realize this past week that I need to make yet another tweak to our plan.  I am going to schedule more time on math and reading for Little R, and  I ordered the Shurley English program for grammar studies.  I will write more about that once we get our feet wet with it.  I have been trying to follow the TOG studies as well as including science, but I have a habit of making things more difficult than they need to be.  I am still going to teach these subjects, but I realize that I need to simplify my plans a bit. 

I just read about something called an Adventure Box on Belinda’s blog, and I love the idea!  I think I can incorporate them here, and my boys are sure to love the idea as well.  The adventure box idea will still let me be in control of what my boys are allowed access to for their learning, but it will also give them the feeling of control.  The best thing is that it will add an element of fun, which is always good.

Making an Adventure Box is simple.  First you pick a subject of interest.  In the box, you place books on the subject- both fiction and non-fiction-  as well as videos, hands on activities, games, etc.  Really whatever you can think of that will also encourage a particular skill that the child needs to practice.  Belinda uses a sort of accountability card as well to help teach the child responsibility.  

I am going to make two adventure boxes.  One will be for TOG, and the other will be on a subject of Little R’s choice.  I will write about our experience later along with some pictures.

You can also read more about this idea on The Heart of the Matter Online in this post by Heather Woodie.

Responses

  1. I have read about the adventure boxes before also. They seem like alot of fun. Recently stumbled upon your blog and enjoying it.
    Blessings
    Diane

  2. Looks like you’re off to a great start!!! I encourage you to persevere in your homeschool journey. We are called to train them up in the way that they should go, so keep turning to Him for guidance, even in your curriculum choices.

    I like the idea of an adventure box too. I have also been toying with the ‘workbox’ concept. I can’t wait to hear how this works out for you.

    Many Blessings!

  3. The adventure box sounds like fun to do! I will definitely venture to the other posts you recommended… So far, I just have a shelf where I put library books, and they have gravitated to them, but I need to introduce more FUN things to our curriculum. Thanks for the idea!! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

