Posted by: Amy | November 8, 2009

The Creation Museum

museumLogo_sm

I have waited a long time to finally get the chance to visit The Creation Museum of Petersburg, Ky.  A good friend of mine invited me and my boys to join her and her homeschool co-op on homeschool day.  I believe The Creation Museum offers homeschool days on every Wednesday and Thursday as long as you order in advance.  You can find out more information about this on their website.

I had heard and read a lot of great things about The Creation Museum in Petersburg, KY since it was first built, and all of what I learned built the place up in my mind to be something extraordinary.  I have to say that I was not let down in the least!  Every single display was done to complete perfection.  There is an unbelievable amount of quoted scripture that supports every thing that is stated.  It is like walking through the Bible and seeing it come alive! 

The first thing we did when we arrived was to encounter the Stargazer’s Planetarium.  This experience alone, along with all the oral documentation, is an absolutely unbelievable experience!  It explains the enormity and magnificence of outer space in such an incredible way, that it paints a miraculous picture of God’s true existence. 

The main focus of the museum is on creation, but there are some things on display that represent other issues.  Some of what I can remember pertains to times of now, but since I had my children with me on this trip I did not get the chance to absorb all of it. 

My children liked the outside petting zoo the best.  It is located at the end of a beautiful walking path outside.  There are a few animals that can be pet and fed.  I was impressed how knowledgable the animal caretakers were of the animals.  They were able to answer all of our questions.

Nativity

For the Christmas season, there will be a beautiful Nativity display outside in the front of the museum that I believe is free of charge.  We saw people working on building the display when we were there.  I thought this would be a good place to mention, too, that I read an article in the Home School Enrichment magazine about how a large amount of work done at the museum is by homeschooled children and previously homeschooled graduates. 

I absolutely cannot wait to go back, though the next time I would like to go sans kids.  There is a lot to read and watch, and with little kids in tow it is very hard to accomplish.  Lucky for me, I only live about 1/2 an hour away, so this is very possible.

Responses

  1. I’ve heard a lot about the Creation Museum and *someday* if we ever pass that way, I’d love to stop with the kids. It’s neat you had an opportunity to go, Amy!

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  2. Wow – sounds like a great place to visit! Wish we were closer.

    I LOVE your blog header pic. Sooo cute!

  3. Yes, it is worth the stop if you are nearby. And, if either of you happen out “this way,” please let me know! I would love to meet you in person. :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

